People

Professors

The new competence center for algorithmic and mathematical methods in Biology, Biotechnology and Medicine currently consists of 7 Professors from 4 different faculties of the University of Applied Sciences Mannheim. The interdisciplinary scientific orientation of the center is combined from from aspects of Biotechnology, Computer Science and Mathematics with a focus on simulation, algorithms and software-solutions as well as statistical and mathematical analyses. The aim is to work closely together with partners from industry and science and thus enriching the teaching and education of our students.

The following members are currently working in the competence center for algorithmic and mathematical methods in Biology, Biotechnology and Medicine:

Prof. Dr. Elena Fimmel

Institute of Mathematical Biology | Faculty of Computer Science

+49 621 292-6243
e.fimmel@hs-mannheim.de
Institute Webpage

Special research interests:
Mathematical Biology, Cryptography, Graph Theory

Prof. Dr. Markus Gumbel

Institute of Medical Informatics | Faculty of Computer Science

+49 621 292-6246
m.gumbel@hs-mannheim.de
Homepage

Special research interests:
Simulation and Bioinformatics

Prof. Dr. Steffen Rasenat

Faculty of Electrical Engineering

+49 621 292-6771
s.rasenat@hs-mannheim.de
Homepage

Special research interests:
Physics and Simulation

Prof. Dr. Lutz Strüngmann

Institute of Mathematical Biology | Faculty of Computer Science

+49 621 292-6762
l.struengmann@hs-mannheim.de
Homepage

 

Special research interests:
Mathematical Biology, Algebra, Logic, Theoretical Computer Science

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Werft

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

+49 621 292-6882
w.werft@hs-mannheim.de

Special research interests:
Biostatistics, Multiple Testing

Prof. Dr. Philipp Wiedemann

Faculty of Biotechnology

+49 621 292-6809
p.wiedemann@hs-mannheim.de

Special research interests:
Cell Culture Technology, in situ Microscopy, Image Analysis

Prof. Dr. Ivo Wolf

Institute of Medical Informatics | Faculty of Computer Science

+49 621 292-6758
i.wolf@hs-mannheim.de
Homepage

Special research interests:
Physics, Image Processing